Reno DUI Accident Lawyer

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services states that “substance use can impair perception, cognition, attention, balance, coordination, and other brain functions necessary for safe driving.” Driving while intoxicated has been linked to reckless driving, car crashes, and fatal accidents. Impaired drivers lack the reaction time needed to avoid collisions, but a Reno car accident lawyer could hold them accountable.

If you were hurt in a crash with a drunk driver, a Reno DUI accident lawyer at Valiente Mott could help you recover compensation for your damages and losses and provide the financial resources you need to heal and rebuild your life. Call for a free consultation today. We can evaluate your case and advise you of your legal options.

What is the Legal Limit in Nevada for Intoxication?

The law determines when someone is impaired based on their blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Factors that impact the BAC include the number of drinks consumed, the amount of time in which they were consumed, and body weight. In Nevada, a blood alcohol concentration of .08% is the legal limit. However, drivers under 21 will face criminal charges for a BAC of .02 percent or above, and for motorists with commercial driver’s licenses (CDL), it is .04 percent.

It is against the law to use marijuana in Nevada. Besides alcohol, it is the most commonly detected drug in drivers involved in car accidents. One study found that marijuana increased the odds of being in a car accident by 83 percent. However, proving someone is under the influence of marijuana is not as easy. THC can stay in the body for anywhere from one to 30 days, depending on how often the driver uses it. If pulled over, police may use evidence such as discovering marijuana in the car, bloodshot eyes, and statements from witnesses.

Driver Impairment is an Act of Negligence

There are four elements of negligence that a Reno DUI accident lawyer must be able to prove:

  • The defendant owed you a duty of care
  • The duty of care was breached through their intoxication
  • Your injuries resulted directly from the breached duty
  • You suffered compensable damages in the accident

Typically, there is no dispute over the first element, given that all drivers must take adequate steps to operate their vehicles safely. If the at-fault motorist was impaired, they breached the duty of care owed to you.

Call Valiente Mott for a Free Consultation

Valiente Mott is a law firm dedicated to helping accident victims in Reno. We handle all personal injury matters, including car crashes caused by impaired drivers. We are compassionate yet aggressive when advocating for our clients, including families who lost loved ones in fatal accidents. A Reno DUI accident lawyer with Valiente Mott can review your case and advise you of your options. Contact us today for a free consultation. Since we work on a contingency basis, there are no upfront legal fees.

Awards & accolades